On Writing

Happy Response

Yesterday, I was swept up.  A writer asked readers for a favorite quote.  She had posted it only a short time earlier, but responses were already piling in.

Oh, man, in the middle of a day filled with stupid, onerous tasks, I was thrilled to send one in because my daughter had handed me a quote that morning.  Poignant, written in careful script on a small scrap of paper, it was perfect to share.

I could do this!  I could send in a quote and add to a developing conversation with people I don’t know and will never meet.  But we are kindred spirits, defining and shaping our worlds with words.

Sitting in the library at one of the epic wooden tables, I pulled out the quote from my bag and typed it carefully.  Then I pressed send.  One awful moment later, I realized that I had neglected to tag the post.  So, I submitted that, too.

The author wrote to me last night and guided me in the way to post correctly.  She was kind, clear, immediate.  What a wonderful world — you can make a mistake and there is no shouting, no explosions, no throwing you off the boat.

I thank her and all the other bloggers who have liked the quote that was handed to me — and I thank this entire blessed, wonderful community where a new person can jump in and receive warm, clear, capable assistance.

For the record, here is the original posting:

 A gift handed to me this morning (so sorry that I don’t have the full attribution, but the artist Goya is in there): “Fantasy abandoned by reason produces impossible monsters; united with her, she is the mother of the arts and the origin of their marvels.”

Then there is always the famous: “Better to beg forgiveness than to ask for permission” interpreted by myself to turn into “If I’m not getting my hand slapped once a week, I’m not doing my job.” (From years in the trenches of corporate marketing…)

Leave a Reply

